Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

A Case of Mistaken Identity!

Well it's such a glorious day that we packed up and set off with the dog for a walk. We hadn't gone far when we stumbled upon a group of middle-aged gents, all dressed in various shades of khaki, carrying cameras and nets. They were photographing butterflies and, spying my camera (and khaki shorts) assumed I must be a fellow lepidopterist, or whatever the technical term is. They were very keen to compare cameras and to show me a few species.

Now what I know about butterflies could probably be written on the antennae of one but natural politeness in the face of their enthusiasm meant that I, temporarily, became one of their ilk...much to Bob's amusement.

So in spite of the fact that my trusty Tamron lens is not the best tool for macro shots (just as a pair of pliers could not be considered the best tool for removing a tiny splinter from your thumb) I gamely pointed it and shot wherever they told me that some rare or interesting winged insect was sitting.

So now I know all about cream-spotted lesser antennaed flutteraterus...or whatever they were going on about ;-)

Actually I did learn a few new species and this one [puffs out chest and prepares to polish and show off her new-found knowledge] is a Green Hairstreak. Not sure why it's called that, other than that it's green but there it is. Are you impressed?

I eventually managed to extricate myself from my new friends with the promise that I would most definitely, honestly seek them out and join their group again sometime.

Now we're going to have a BBQ and I'm going to lie in wait , with a proper macro and see if I can spot one of those cream-spotted, lesser antennaed flutterateruses...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.