Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Sgwarnog

Today was my one chance of the holiday to get a walk in, so I set off for Spring Woods on the Baildon/Hawksworth boundary to check out the bluebells, of which there were many. I then carried on up Sconce Lane to Faweather and Weecher Reservoir, before returning over Baildon Moor home.

I was also looking out for four more cup-marked rocks for my tally, two in Spring Wood, and two at Faweather. I found the larger of the Spring Wood ones, and the location of the other if not the rock. One of the Faweather ones has been enclosed into a garden, so I had to peep over a wall - the other I didn't spot though, even though I was in the right place.

It was also a good day for wildlife, the highlight being the subject of this photo - my first sighting of a Brown Hare since I adopted my Sgwarnog persona (sgwarnog being Welsh for hare in case you were wondering). Although I've taken better pictures today, I thought seeing as my blip journal has the title it has, I couldn't miss an opportunity to share a picture of a Sgwarnog in a field - this one being near Weecher Reservoir.

Directly after seeing the hare, I witnessed an Oystercatcher chasing off a Red Kite, which presumably had been paying too much attention to their babies. The Kite then headed off to Hawksworth Moor, but this is the closest I've seen one to Baildon Moor. I also saw my first ducklings and goslings of the year, lots of Lapwings, Curlews, Swallows, Pheasants, Kestrels, Meadow Pipits, Skylarks and a few Golden Plover. And although they're really common, my first Pied Wagtail of the year. Not bad for a stroll out of the back door.

Back to work tomorrow, for two days, before the next holiday season ensues.

brown hare listening ~ other side of a brown field ~ hiding in plain view

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.