Walk with me

By OutandAbout

Rippleside Cemetery

As a Minister of Religion when I visit a cemetery it is normally because I am taking a funeral; however, on such sunny days - as today - it is relaxing just to wander around and say 'Hello' to everyone I have buried.

I love Rippleside Cemetery as it is such a mixture of the old and new. Old, dramatical grave plots, as in the photo, to more modern formal black granite headstones. I love to photograph the old graves as they contain so much drama, old language and, dare I say, can really be 'over the top'. This particular grave sees the girl clinging to the cross where it is written 'Simply To Thy Cross I Cling'

New headstones now also incorporate a photo of the deceased, often are surrounded with items that the person loved or is associated with. Today, one grave for a child who died nearly 10 years ago, looked as though it was covered with every toy from Toys R Us... another had the seven dwarfs from Snow White keeping guard.

Graveside by David Gibbs (2009)
This place of thought
Where emotions tussle,

Happiness and sadness collide,
Searching for answers,

Reflected in clouded eyes,
Misty and lost.

Flowers placed lovingly
In quite contemplation.



Anyway today's walk home from Rippleside was 35 minutes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.