Outage

I had a break between 1.30 and 6 pm today. I headed into town and considered going to see the Ansell Adams Exhibition at the City Art Centre. By the time I got up to that part of town I was worried I wouldn't have enough time to do it justice. I headed off to Cockburn Street instead and discovered that the Stills gallery had a free exhibition of photos by a guy called Peter Hujar, a photographer who was based in New York in the 70s and 80s. He had lots of photos of people like John Walters, Divine and Candy Darling. These were interspersed with gritty monochrome photos of New your buildings. When I spotted this walking around town later I was inspired to try something similar. The result is not really anything like Hujar's photos but it was inspiring to see them and gave me impotus to do something different from usual.

When I got back to work at 5 it turned out that there had been a power outage to the servers at work so no-one could log on to the computers. I was told that they were hoping to get it sorted for half past five but that they'd then turn the servers off at seven so they could check everything for tomorrow. Eventually the time it was due to go back up was moved back to half past six instead so my students had to be sent home as they were doing a Dreamweaver class and there was nothing they could do which didn't involve computers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.