Capital adventures

By marchmont

Juxtaposition

The new and the old - on one side the Hibs stand rises skyward, in the middle the former Norton Park School, now a suite of offices for vol orgs and on the other side (out of shot) the ground floor tenement flat in Albion Road where my father grew up.

The Hibs (Hibees) stand is edged in green because it was originally founded by Irish immigrants but by the time my dad was a supporter it was more about where you lived than what church/school you went to. I suppose he had to support the Hibees as a he practically lived in the ground.

Sectarianism, and football sectarianism in particular, is still the curse of parts of Scotland - and it's really nothing to do with religion, more like tribalism.

Missed the beautiful morning - my excuse for not going to yoga was that Ash has my kit and I won't get it back till Saturday. Finished off a couple of paintings then off to Norton Park for another VS training. We over-ran. Didn't get home till after 10.

Now getting in the mood for tomorrow. I hope the sun shines on them. Whatever you think about Royals they are 2 people committing to one another and that is good. Commitment is a healthy thing and wedding vows should mean what they say, a lifelong commitment. We should wish them well.

I feel a bit of a connection. #1 son, G, was born at the start of the Falklands war and William at the end, both served in the army and now William is getting married 5 weeks before G. Of course that won't be in an Abbey or have an audience of millions. It will be in a government office in Putrajaya, Malaysia and, I'm reliably informed, will take 2 minutes but no matter how low key it is I am looking forward to Wen Hui becoming my/our daughter in law.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.