Capital adventures

By marchmont

garden party

not enough for a street party so this is E, R and A after champagne and cake at #28. We LOVED the dress.

Don't you just love weddings - I'm a romantic, I like weddings, bring back so many memories:

happiest - well ours/mine, of course, happiest day of my life, 33 years ago. My first, and only, wedding. Arriving at Colinton Church in the snow with my dad, veil down and seeing D waiting at the altar for me. Standing outside the church hand in hand - we looked supremely happy, in love. Ushers pushing cars up the slope snowy hill from the church in the Dell. We were SO young - me 25, D almost 23. D's not sharing these memories this week-end, he's with G.

only time a bridesmaid - to K & D, in Roberton. A very hot June day in the scorching summer of '76. 70's fashion, Juliet caps and nylon collars up to our necks and sleeves down to our wrists - only one word 'hot'. I wasn't as good as Pippa today - nearly tore the headress of K's head as I was still arranging the dress while she and her dad set off down the aisle at a rate of knots. Dryburgh Abbey Hotel was lovely though. D didn't come - said he had no suit.

most nerve-wracking - Easter 07, singing solo at J & L's on Loch Lomond. Singing the Rutter (just like today) arrangement of 'All Things Bright and Beautiful' not as well as Hayley Westenra, who is much better than me (I want to sing that new Rutter that was sung today, it was beautiful). I drove D mad practising all the way down from Inverurie to Edinburgh in the car but I loved it.

last - June 08 - Pittodrie House Hotel - D & D's. Holding D's hand as the vows were made, thinking of the promises we'd made to each other, both knowing 6 days later he'd be with G, not me.

next - 10 June, G & W H's civil ceremony in KL - won't be as grand as today but I will be so proud to see my son get married and to gain a wonderful daughter. I hope both of us are there. I can't wait (must book tickets though!) And then it will be the wedding wedding NEXT year for them - the REAL celebration!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.