Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

A Difficult Thursday

Sitting in my classroom this morning, I was so out of sorts . . . not functioning on all cylinders. Quietly trying to sort through my thoughts -- our good friend, George, passed from this life last evening about 8:38. We had been notified within 20 minutes.

We knew the end was coming quickly, but the reality was no less shocking. Cancer is so ugly and so determined. We'll miss George for the rest of our lives. He's been a real friend.

So in my classroom this morning I sat wondering how I could arrive there without all the papers I had read and graded last evening. The pieces of my puzzle were not turning into a smooth flowing day. Thankfully my students were quietly sitting at their desks writing an in-class essay. I was wondering how I would explain not having their graded projects with me -- ugh!

Then a text-message arrived in my phone. I pulled it from my pocket and Mr. Fun had news for me about the dogs and the vet updating each pooches' file. I responded that I was in the classroom and the in-class essays were being composed and I'd see him later in the afternoon. I was sure the texting had concluded.

Then another text landed in my phone. I looked at it and it was this photo of the three pooches standing on the patio trying to convince Mr. Fun to open the door to let them back inside. He had stopped by the house to check on them and let them have a quick trot around the backyard.

I took one look at their photo and had to administer every bit of control not to laugh out loud. They just looked so forlorn. The photo took my mind off the heavy things of life.

At the end of the afternoon I got back to my car and lifted my trunk-lid to put my things in and guess what, there was the bag with all my students graded projects. I stood staring at them -- and realized again that my emotions have placed me in a thick fog and the pieces of this day had not aligned, but came randomly and out of order.

So, I don't want to rush through this fog. I want all of this emotion and the hurt from losing a friend to make me a better person. So I'm going to move slowly while trying to absorb all my feelings and sort through all my thoughts. One thing I know for sure, George is saving me a place (see paragraph 5 here).

Now I want to get a several hour nap so I can wake up at 1 a.m. to watch "The Wedding." I love weddings. Every little girl wants to be a princess -- wow, what a story this is becoming.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun, and Chloe, Mitzi, and "black" Max), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.