Capital adventures

By marchmont

Scaffolding

It's spring, so around Marchmont a new plant is sprouting, the metal galleries of scaffolding that are erected to undertake the roof maintenance that seem always to be required on these tenements. This block was built in 1905 and OUR scaffolding will be going up (we hope!) in July/August to facilitate the remedial work that is being done on the roof and gutters and chimney stacks. I'll be £12000 poorer (ouch) but at least the leaks into the front bedroom will stop.

I'm trying to walk to Sydney with WLR (on-line, not in reality). I started late so I only have 2 weeks for the challenge and to Sydney is 360 hours, since Saturday I've done 50 minutes but that should improve from tomorrow. I am also planning to swim every morning. The sun means I'm awake early so I may as well get up. I used to do that every Saturday in Inverurie - in the pool at 7.30.

After a chat with Karen at Butterflies I spent the day hunched over the laptop doing stuff that has been on my 'to do' list for ages - I look on it as work, real work. But now it's done and I hope it bears fruit, but I still have 4 more boring jobs to do.

I've decided I have great life AND I can run up 3 flights of stairs - can't be bad!!




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.