While on my runs

By waipushrink

What a warning

Up early this morning for a pre dawn run to Auckland Domain and back. The low light resulted in a poor quality shot or three, although I did have quite a nice picture of the front of the Auckland War Memorial Museum. Had I been posting my blip this morning, I may well have chosen that.

However, off I went to the office where I remained until almost 6 pm. I received a txt from my Sydney based son asking for reassurance that I had not been in Albany (on Auckland's North Shore) when the tornado struck. No says I. And promptly forgot about it as I completed an important report.

On arrival home, I was told by S of the severe damage including two deaths and numerous injured persons, from a tornado hitting Albany full force around 3 pm, one of the busiest times at a mall, as mothers take their children there after collecting them from school. Little enough in comparison with what has happened elsewhere in New Zealand and the world but totally outside our usual experience.

This apparently attractive sky has proved to be a warning, indeed. One can (retrospectively) see this sky as ominous. I just think of it as the shepherd's warning. Nature itself is neutral; as I said once before, it just is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.