While on my runs

By waipushrink

Running with dog into fog

This morning I chose to start my run a little later; no appointments to keep. Started after sunrise. Went past the mosaic wall again. I stopped and confirmed Ceridwen's sharp eyes; in the arch 3rd along the first symbol IS the Welsh dragon. If the cafe is half as interesting as this mosaic is looking on close examination, I want to visit it.

Then on around to Coxs Bay and Coxs Bay Park and a shot I was pleased with showing the low sun glinting and shining off yachts and far suburbs.

HOWEVER, when I reached Grey Lynn Park the fog was starting to roll over the fields in that way that early winter fogs begin in Auckland. Quite serendipitously, I thought that a shot of the fog over the field would be good. Stopped and turned around to take my picture. Noticed this young woman and her dog well away from here, and realised that they were going to go along this path. Quickly zoomed in, framed up and at the right instant got this picture.

My wee Panasonic thinks about the picture just taken for two or three seconds, by which stage they were both gone gone gone. I was and still am envious of her youth and speed. At this point all I can claim right now is longevity; and fitness I guess. There was no way that she was going to catch her dog without calling him, despite her speed.

I like the way the sun is catching the top of the rugby goal posts, and part of the house. Without the fog, I would not have stopped, turned, and had the camera ready. A true happenstance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.