Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Sheffield Architecture

A walk across Sheffield this afternoon to collect my birthday present from John Lewis (my birthday is not for 12 more days yet so all will be revealed later).

I thought I'd take a few photographs on the way. I quite like to vary my blips with a bit of the city when I get the chance and I've got an additional motive at the moment as the next photographic theme is `architecture & record' (I think they are a little on the traditional side in Penistone). So I've been taking notebook shots of potential subjects which I might go back and re-photograph later. This is the old Education Office building on Division Street which has some very interesting detail including lettering above the door which reads, `Pupil Teachers Centre'. It backs onto the rear of the City Hall where I also spotted a semi-circular classically themed extention to the building with Corinthian style decoration, but on square columns. I've never really noticed this before. I guess I'm usually in too much of a rush when I walk past. When I worked in Wakefield I ran the Urban Studies Centre so spent much more time observing buildings and getting to know the history but my job in Sheffield has been very different and I'm very much a newcomer in this city so there is so many new things to discover.

I stopped off at the car-park in Grenowood on the drive home where the beech leaves were fresh and green and glowing in the afternoon sun. I'm trying to capture one of those very special shots you see in magazines and in photo galleries but I think I need a photo recipe or perhaps just a little more time using photoshop.

Back tomorrow - I'm feeling pretty tired today and am away to bed shortly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.