Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Flying Buttresses - Silkstone Parish Church

These are the newly restored flying buttresses on All Saints Parish Church in Silkstone. Rumour has it that they are actually carvings of well known village residents but I'm still trying to confirm this.

I'd been to have my hair cut in the village and stopped to take a photograph of the memorial to the children who were lost in the Huskar Pit Disaster. This was the first time that I'd looked closely at the church building and was surprised to discover a very fascinating and ancient building. Originally 12C the main church was completed in 1495. This was followed by some 19C restoration. See the Images of England website for a photograph of the church. You can just make out these later carvings on the corner. The gravestones are fascinating too, but I didn't discover any 18th century Momento Mori stones, which is what I usually look for in old graveyards.

Photography club tonight, but unfortunately the speaker has sent her apologies because of illness. So a practical evening instead. My first, so I will be interested to see what happens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.