Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Called in Sick

I woke this morning to every cell in my body screaming "We aren't going anywhere!" I was and I still am exhausted. I have had a full weekend of cleaning and preparing for Sunday's dinner party and then yesterday was full-on activity until after 9:00 p.m. So this was "tag you're it" day.

I never, and I do mean almost "never," call in sick. When I retire my first year out will be unused accumulated sick time. So early this morning I sent an email to the chairperson of my department and the secretary letting them both know I would not be in and to post a "cancellation" on my classroom door and then I sent an email to all my students, even the ones who do not have class on Tuesday. I wanted them to know that I would not be in the Writing Center today nor the classroom.

So I feel guilty revealing that I did not get anything done today, but I did not. I have graded a couple student papers, but that is about all.

This semester my Tuesday classes have one more meeting day than my Thursday classes, so I used the extra day by cancelling class. I was so tired last night that I didn't even post my blip.

I did look at my photos last night, but my attention span was zero. So I blipped yesterday's trip to the ocean this evening.

Tomorrow is a light day with no classes, so maybe by Thursday morning I can convince my cells that we are going to meet the day and we're going to do it with gusto -- even if we have to fake it.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka

P.S. The beautiful red amaryllis is just outside the informal dining area next to our kitchen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.