a town called E.

By Eej

Tulips


Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that. - Martin Luther King Jr.

I have been thinking about this quote a lot the last few days and while I had a absolute plonker of a day, I decided to NOT take a photo that would reflect that. I decided to photograph something that would not add darkness, but add light.

Last night, mama Killdeer and her babies were playing in our yard again. I sat watching them when all of a sudden mama started screeching and hollering and flapping at the babies. I hadn't seen them but alerted by the mama I saw this girl and her stupid, stupid dad, both on bikes, both on the SIDEWALK come flying towards them. One of the babies was still on the sidewalk and ducked. Which is the perfect response to avoid being eaten, but making yourself even more invisible in this case was not a good move. I saw both of them pass him with barely an inch to spare. I screamed, mama killdeer was beside herself ... and what did these stupid ignorant people do? Nothing. And there is no way he didn't hear me. Oh, I was so mad, if it hadn't been for mama and the babies already being freaked out so bad I would have chased the guy down. The almost flattened one ran away as far as the next block, with mama trying to coach him back.
This morning, there were only two babies.
And then this ass of a man thought it would be funny to have his stupid dog chase daddy killdeer.

I am so fed up with ignorant people. I understand that not everyone thinks like me and sees things like me, but ... well, they should!*

Things at work were not particularly fab either.

But, when I came home and decided to NOT vent my frustration photographically, things started looking up. The Squire came for a visit. A humongous bumble-bee too. Mama Cardinal. And when I walked around the house I found a magnificently fragrant package on the porch. I will Blip it tomorrow, as I need to prepare to do it justice :)



*rare moment of self-appreciationdelusion here. It'll pass.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.