a town called E.

By Eej

Stake - out

The things we do.
I heard the shrill calls of mama killdeer shortly after 8, and when I looked outside saw three little bouncy balls on stilts scattering everywhere. Because of the double glass in the front room window and screens in the bedroom, my only chance was the frontdoor. Not really as inconspicuous as I wanted. When I opened the door and looked outside, all I saw was mama glaring at me. I knew the babies were hiding underneath her, so I sat myself on the floor. And waited. And waited. The bottom half of the screen/storm door is glass, and while it didn't do much for the clarity of the photos, it did help hiding me from mama. I waited some more. Then, her wings did an odd wave and out they came. Awwwwww.

A co-worker told me that for at least 4 years they had a killdeer nest close by, but they never saw any babies. I feel extra lucky now :)

I know my way around squirrels, but killdeer eat mostly insects and I don't see myself catching 'skeeters to make friends. Maybe just being patient will give me the opportunity to get closer? I would like some better quality photos. Please?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.