Waiting for Jonny

By yearofhappy

Don't Mention That Song

More fresh air and another walk. I pass these lions so often, this is one of a set of four that sit on the corners of the two main halls on the main street. I have never really understood the history as to why they are in Saltaire.

Saltaire is a village that was purpose built by Sir Titus Salt for his workers and I am not sure what the lion relevance is

Maybe it was all anachronistic and was a tribute to
1: Lion Bars ( yum)
2: The Lion Sleeps Tonight ( damn I wasn't meant to mention the song !)


How would I know. I have only lived here 11 years!! I had best head off to google ( NB may have been useful to do this before I wrote nonsense!)


Anyway a goodish day, reverted to feeling rubbish again but the fresh air helped and it being election/referendum day also helped. I love elections, going into vote gives me a sense of being sensible and responsible ( and I don't often feel that!)

I am very excited that we could be on the brink of change with a new electoral system... and there goes my secrecy out of the window about which way I voted....

Bumped into a friend at the polling station, she had just seen a police van drive off and was literally about to text me when she saw me to ask if it was me in the van causing trouble at elections!! Me ????

Happy Election Day
xxx
oh and thanks for another spotlight yesterday, you are all very lovely

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.