My Angle

By myangle

Beer Wonderful Beer

When I got home this evening I went straight out to the garage to do the final tweak to my Land Rover exhaust. I then cranked it up, literally, because the battery is virtually flat! Earl Grey started on the third crank.

With the Land Rover purring in background I decided to check my homebrew. Firstly I tapped off half a glass to get rid of any sediment. I then tapped enough to fill the hydrometre tube. The reading was a lot lower than I expected which means that the beer is all fermented out. Finally I tapped another half a glass for inspection and tasting. As you can see from the photo, it is quite murky. That is because it has really only just finished fermenting and needs time to settle. With any luck it will have cleared by the weekend so I can bottle it. As for the taste? Very nice although flat beer at 24 degees C in Australian summer isn't my cup of tea.

So today can be chalked up as a success. I am still getting used to being back on day shift and the commute by train is one hell of a lot longer, but it isn't all that bad. My Land Rover is just about ready to head to the farm and my beer is doing well.

Now, if anyone knows how to get my motorbike running well I would be set.

I must apologise for the lack of comments. I am blaming it on my change of shift. Tonight I will try and answer some from yesterday. My goal is to answer all those who comment on my blip but so far I am not managing even that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.