Beth Wester Ross

By bethceol

The Young Ones......

This is the start of my retrospective blips - all held up due to lack of time.

The technical and dress rehearsals went very well today, apart from a glaring omission on my part. I discovered that I hadn't done the backing track for "Reviewing the Situation"!! When we have rehearsed this, I have just played it 'live' for Fagin, and completely forgot to do the computer backing. Guess what I am doing tomorrow??

I followed the rehearsals with a gig with the ceilidh band in Achnasheen - not eaxactly handy. However, it was a great night. Syd, the accordion player, walked in and met 2 people who had been in school with him in Orkney. During the course of the evening, a few new dances appeared which I had never heard of. Syd informs me that they are well kent in Stromness, however. Ever heard of the Britannia three step and the Palais Glide?

The folks at the dance were great craic, and were on the floor for every dance. I love when that happens. During the break between dances, I took a few shots of Syd and Don (the fiddler). I know that they are both retired, but both look amazingingly fit and healthy. I asked them tonight how old they actually were. It was a bit of a shock - Syd is 72, and Don is 79!!

With my 52, I realised that performing all the jigs and reels were 203 years of musicianship..........

Good Grief.

Coming out of the hotel after the ceilidh, there was a wee bit of a surprise - heavy snow. And the deer were all over the road on the way home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.