While on my runs

By waipushrink

The Sunday morning walk

Thank you to all who passed by my journal yesterday, and especially those who made such affirming comments about my mother in law and her paintings. S read her the comments, and she is really touched that people she has never met have said such positive things.

Today being mother's day here in New Zealand (possibly everywhere?), S had a telephone call from daughter J who is currently in London. Daughter C accompanied husband and children to a brunch for his mother and grandmother, and then they all joined us for the rest of the afternoon. My niece was still here (having given her children permission to forget MD for this year!), so it was a pleasant afternoon.

When told it was time to go home, the grandboys wailed that they had been promised a trip to the "bird park"; Western Springs Park is its proper name. As mother and father were tired, Grandpa volunteered and I had a lovely hour and a half watching from near enough to rescue if necessary, which wasn't. Got a picture of them climbing a rock wall, which would have met next week's challenge of Up.

Just after I got back home Tsuken set up an iChat with S (and me). We are both delighted and touched by his post for today. Not just the photo (of an old photo) but his words.

After all that, I chose to blip this shot from my morning run. I ran to the road into Maungawhau domain and walked up to the summit. Just shy of the top, I spied this couple on the far side of the crater, taking their Sunday morning walk. The sun had been up for a while, but the sky was still rather colourful, and bright enough to turn the trees and the couple into silhouettes. The haze over the harbour was not obvious to this human's eye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.