While on my runs

By waipushrink

The matriarch

I enjoyed a somewhat leisurely run this morning, and took a couple of photos to maintain my aim of at least one photograph taken on every run. I wasn't looking too hard, as I knew that we were going up to the Beach House to see mother in law and show my niece (who is with us for the weekend) the developments, and the area in general.

The building work is continuing to progress well, and we hope it won't be too long before we can start using it again. Just before we left to return here to the apartment, I saw the opportunity to meet this week's challenge. My 91 year old mother in law was sitting looking at me, with a number of her paintings behind. These were done by her a few years ago, especially the big one on the wall.

She is still producing brightly coloured abstract paintings, smaller than before, but just as innovative and appealing to all ages. A couple of months ago ahe asked Mr H what he would like for his birthday, and he said one of her paintings. She let him choose, and he patiently waited until he turned 7 and then collected it.

Mother, grandmother, great-grandmother, and artist. She continues to live alone as she has done since being widowed years ago now. She has in the last year and a bit accepted that she needs daily help, which allows her to remain in her own home where more days than not she does some work on the latest painting. Independence is relative.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.