IzzyK

By IzzyK

Unsung Heros!

Ever so often I get to the stage where I'd rather shut down the hatches and take no more of what the world has to offer! A world where it seems at times people worship at the alter of celebs, footballers & other overpaid stars, a world that measures success on how much a person earns & slaphes about in over the top ways. Yet everyday in our communities there are unsung heros quietly going about their way & doing amazing jobs, sometimes in very difficult circumstances, unpaid, unrecognised and not valued.

Last winter I met Chris on my walks on Climping Beach, every two or so weeks, he takes it upon himself to walk from Littlehampton to the far end of Climping beach and gathers the litter other people are too lazy to pick up after themselves. He has never been asked to do this job, he does not get paid to do it and yet he goes out there faithfully, all seasons and does it. I was pleased to catch up with Chris again, as our paths had not crossed since the winter. He never complains about what he does and is a very interesting man to talk to and runs this fantastic website on The River Arun & surronding areas .

Big thank you Chris for the great job you do out there, it is much appreciated!

We've got a world that is the wrong way round, where those that deserve to get better pay, those battling at the front line of our emergency services, hospitals, teachers, those fighting to keep our country safe don't and those that do (not all of them mind - there are some doing amazing work out there) get paid way over the odds & see nothing beyond their own egos, this makes me feel sick. Oh If only I ran the world ;o) But in my world I hope for one thing that my son can see it for what it is and respects that quiet army of unsung heros & not be influnced or too swayed by the celeb circus that is dished up everyday!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.