Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Pub Sign

Crumbs, what a day!

It started early with exercise - not swimming, but a brisk walk. Then home to do lots of admin work on the computer, more sorting, filing, backups etc.

In the midst of it all I did a good session of viola practice.

Then to Scharwenka's for lunch. Or, rather more accurately, to Scharwenka's, then to the pub with him and Mrs Scharwenka, then lunch!

I was interested to observe that the special (which we all had) was "Pork & Apple Pie". I first read it as "Pork (& Apple Pie)" which I thought was a rather eccentric sort of a meal, until, after about 6 read throughs I realized it was actually "(Pork & Apple) Pie", all of which goes to show that it's vitally important to get your brackets in the right place or things get completely different meanings.

Anyway, we then proceeded to Sainsbury's where I searched for trousers, but found none big enough, which was a shame. Everyone in Sainsbury's was able to tell that I was wearing bright red underpants because of the hole in the back of the trousers that I was wearing - remedying that situation would take a bit longer!

Then the Wonderspouse arrived and we drove home.

The evening took on a rather bizarre and surreal air when I checked facebook on arrival at home. Blipfoto had posted a notice telling us of the sad and untimely death of our friend from twitter and blip, @amalari/Amalarian. I immediately retweeted the tweet from blipfoto, in order to let people know what had happened, then spent rather a lot of the evening on twitter - as often happens when someone dies, those who knew that person tend to congregate.

Then, even more bizarrely, the new season of The Apprentice started - my timeline became a mixture of sad bewildered tweets about @amalari's death, mingled with crazy Apprentice tweets about mediocre businesspeople who didn't know how to make soup and didn't know what an orange was!

Eventually I had to stop as it all got too much. I got into bed with my head swirling with it all, resolved to write a blog post the following morning, then settled into a very uneasy sleep.

Molly (or Amalari, as I shall always think of you)! You will be so much missed by so many here on blipfoto. You were one of the few of us who joined at the start of 2010 who continued to blip on a daily basis. I loved your views of the Tuscan hills, especially the ones with the mist. I loved the pictures taken from behind your sparkling clean windows, and I enjoyed your little weather updates at the end of each write up. My heart goes out to your husband, whose life will be so changed without you and to all your family. Many of us will miss you on twitter and blip.

And I'm sorry I never managed to answer your question about the king-size duvet. I don't suppose it matters anymore.

R.I.P. x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.