Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Contrasts

The weather has become more changeable, with frequent showers, and the first part of my morning walk was undertaken in the rain. I had no coat, and rather than seeking shelter, I embraced the feel of the cool rain drops on my skin as well as the evocative smell of damp freshly mown grass.

Before long the sun came out again and the world was briefly filled with dazzling droplets. The water droplets I've blipped had formed on the waxy leaf of the flag iris I'd been photographing. In the end I was drawn to their perfect beauty. like silvery drops of mercury, clinging on to the bent over leaf with surprising tenacity.

It then struck me that having been cool and damp, the warm sunshine was even more welcome than usual. As photographers we need contrast to make a good picture, but this is also true of the rest of life - rain and sun, dark and light, sorrow and joy...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.