Catbird...

...so-called because it sounds just like a cat meowing when it calls from its perch on the limb of a tree. This bird is the only one in the Eastern U.S. of that particular slate-grey color, but it is a common summer resident in our area of Ohio. So remember, if you are walking in the woods around here, and you hear a cat crying, it is likely to be a catbird.

My most interesting capture for today was a mink weasel , but I didn't post him for my blip because he was so well camouflaged he wouldn't have been clear in the thumbnail. He was constantly on the move and hard to capture with my camera. The most surprising thing was to see him capture, kill, and drag a snake home to his den...a snake that was much larger than his own small size. Minks Weasels apparently are carnivores and vicious little critters. If you have time, take a look at the hunt and the capture. It was pretty amazing.

CORRECTION: Today (Saturday) I had the opportunity to show my "mink" pictures to several naturalists, who told me it is not a mink but a long tailed weasel. I've never met a weasel in the flesh, so to speak, but the next time I do, I'll know for sure what it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.