New Library

Strange weather today, ranging from sunshine to clouds to rain to darker clouds to thunder and back to sunshine. By the time evening came round there was no sign at all that there'd ever been rain, and it turned really pleasant. I chose my moment well when I went in to town late. I wandered aimlessly, thinking I might do some blipping in the late evening light. This shot of the new library in Trinity College was the pick of the bunch.

Rather than go straight home afterwards I continued on to Raheny and had a bite to eat in Mulino restaurant. I'd been there before and had quite enjoyed it. Tonight's experience began well, with a very attentive manageress welcoming me like a long-lost friend (in fact, she was if anything a little too gushing). I decided to have just soup and starter and a bottle of beer. To my surprise, the manageress came over after I'd placed my order with an additional complimentary appetiser (just chopped tomato with basil on a slice of toast, but very nice, and a welcome touch). My mushroom and tarragon soup was really good, but then things went a bit downhill when the wait between that and my smoked fish stretched and stretched. When it arrived it turned out to rather tasteless and somewhat overcooked and chewy. A pity that the entire experience failed to live up to the promising start.

I was back home around 10.00, in time to begin tidying and cleaning for my hosting tomorrow of the weekly music session.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.