Stop Making Sense, Mr Potato Head!

Let's get the blip out of the way first. I was taking my leave of Carl and heading back home to do some work when I picked up my camera and said I'd stop off on the way to catch a blip. That's when Carl offered this pack of crisps as a possibility, and who am I to say No. This Mr Potato Head is actually a clip which holds an opened pack of anything closed. Carl thought he was especially suitable for a pack of potato crisps, and I thought the combination had a look of David Byrne from Talking Heads in that weird suit with the oh-so-wide shoulders. That was it, then. Blip sorted.

Real highlights of the day, though, were the Spanish Grand Prix and a fabulous lunch. We kept on pausing the race (aren't these digital boxes wonderful?!) while we did food prep and then food eating. A gorgeous half leg of lamb, coated in herb butter and cooked in a bag  with a generous glug of white wine was the centrepiece, joined by creamed leeks and roast potatoes. Fantastic!

The race was a bit of a bore for two-thirds of it, to be honest, but then (just as with China three weeks ago) it came to life with a vengeance. Pastor Maldonado was unexpectedly on pole, lost the position to Fernando Alonso, regained the lead thanks to a pit stop and stubbornly held on to it right to the end despite anything Alonso could do. Kimi Räikkonen had a great race, finishing once again on the podium. Bottom line: five races, each won by a different driver, and each won by a different team. If you read it in a book you'd say it was impossibly far-fetched, but that's how this amazing season has begun. Roll on Monaco in two weeks (which I hope I'll find somewhere to watch in Germany).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.