The One I Take Tomorrow..

By tomorrow247

I'm full of dust and guitars...

For those of you who know your musicians, you will know that my title today is a quote from the one and only Syd Barrett, one of the founding members of Pink Floyd. I used this title for three reasons.
Primarily is because obviously, the blip today is full of dust and guitars. My guitar has been sitting forlornly in the corner of my room for the past few weeks thanks to AS levels and revision. Tidiness of said room has also suffered dramatically, and although the majority of my room is mainly free from dust, apparently this corner isn't.
Secondly, I feel as though this quote is exactly what my head is like at the moment. Trying to remember Russian history (circa 1855-1917) is like dust to me, unwanted and forgotten as soon as read. all I have really been thinking about is music that I want ot practice, either on guitar (music for next Sunday where the band I'm in are leading worship) or pano (for all who don't know Yiruma's Kiss the Rain, it's a majorly relaxing piece!).
The final reason for this quote is connected to my thoughts in a pretty roundabout way. Syd Barrett left/ was kicked out of Pick Floyd in 1968, but after this date, the band recorded several tributes to him, such as in the Wish You Were Here album. 'Wish you were here' is one of main thought processes today. My family, in particular my mum, have really been missing my grandma today, this being the anniversary of her death, which brought me round to thinking of all the events that she has missed in my life, my graduation to middle, then grammar school, success ( and sometimes failures) in exams, family occasions etc. Then I realised, as Dumbledore (the man!) put it so eloquently, "the ones we love never truly leave us...". So this blip today is for everyone who has lost someone they love.

Oh how we wish she was here today,
To see all the blessings we have,
Yet somehow you know that she is,
Guiding us on our paths

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.