Nell's World

By nell2803

'Book Club Challenge'

Chadwick Family Blipfotos mentioned that there was talk of Friday Challenges on Twitter and Facebook. I don't 'do' either of these so I am relying on her to keep me up to date with these.

Today's is Book Club.

Last year we went on a bit of a road trip in California. We were going to be stopping in Monterey. I knew that Cannery Row was there so took this as a sign that I should read John Steinbeck's classic novel by the same name. Loved the book and knew we had to visit Cannery Row when we got there. It obviously has changed since the book was written but there is still a shop where Lee Chongs's store was. Followed this up with Sweet Thursday. It is worth a read too.

While touring I was reading Valley of the Dolls. This took me by surprise as I wasn't sure I would enjoy it but thought it an appropriate read when in LA. Wasn't disappointed.

Our hippy guide in San Francisco spoke about Jack Kerouac and his book On the Road in particular. When back home I got this and another American classic was enjoyed.

Currently reading Bright Shiny Morning by James Frey. It is similar in some respects to Valley of the Dolls. From the first few pages I was hooked. Will be distraught when I am finished.

Thinking of re reading Catcher in the Rye next but if anyone can suggest another American Classic I would be very grateful.

Letsgoroundagain has also joined the challenge for his 100th.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.