Capital adventures

By marchmont

the old and the new -

Friday 13th 20th

This was the plan - bus to the Gyle for a shopping trip round M&S and M&Co - on the list, shorts, cropped trousers, T-shirts, cardigan - then to chiro and home via Argos to pick up the new (#3) toilet seat.

This is what happened

neighbour called by in the morning to discuss roof repairs and tree removals. I'm in dressing gown
sidetracked myself on K's family tree
long phone call with S - we'd been playing telephone tag for a day during which time #3 son's RAO tried to call me 3 times.
eventually out of the flat spoke to another neighbour about roof/tree
just got into bank - phone call from the RAO re #1 son's Afghan medal
dropped off clothes at Oxfam
missed bus, got another (Lothian Buses wonderful day ticket today)
got another bus. It broke down in Corstorphine.
Decided too late to go to the Gyle
went for (late) lunch. Nasty burger. Splitting headache
Got another bus (#4). It had an accident on Corstorphine Rd. Delay.
Went to M&S (Princes St one of few stores to have new Per Una range that arrived yesterday) and queued to try on clothes. Think top I bought will have to go back
bus #5 to chiro
bus #6 to Blackford Ave PO where Patrcelforce had unhelpfully taken my new camera when they didn't try very hard failed to deliver it yesterday.
Managed to convince post office worker that I'm entitled to get a package addressed to 'David Sim', even although it's for me.
Bus #7 (hope you're keeping up) and home.

The new Canon G12 is unwrapped. I have to make sure I don't scratch this lens. And what will I do with a perfectly good (a[part from scratched lens) 6 month old G12? Stereo blips? I'm reading the book, in bed at night taking practice pics of my bedroom wall.

Next 'Spice Pavilion' with Sunday Brunch Club, oh and that will be at least two MORE buses. Hurray for Lothian Buses.

Today's blip came courtesy of my previous Canon Powershot A560, resurrected from a drawer.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.