michigan man

By outdoorguy

Beecisions Decisions

Bees and hornets and wasps have never been my favorite insects. At the Post Office...when I used to have what we called a mounted route (out in the country), the wasps would sneak in through the bottom of the box, and build their nest right on the lip of the box. You would open the box... she would be startled, and BOOM!!, she would charge you like she was leading the calvary.
You ducked out of her way like she was a mountain lion. Each instance was a mini-heart stopper. Each spring they would give us cans of bug spray to wipe out the small nest. I would deliver the spray with the line..."There...How do you like them apples?"

I would even admit to having just a little fear of the tiny creatures. But, I've come a long way. Used to be that when they came into my truck...I could'nt rest until the wasp was out. At first, I would pick them off with a rubber band from 3-4 feet away. Made a sport out of it. Then I started opening a second window to give them the chance to escape. Near the end of my working time, I was even letting them land on my arm without totally freaking out.

While working...I never did make it through an entire spring-summer season without getting stung. One big bee got me right on the lip/cheek and it swelled up like a chipmunk. It took away my public relations for a couple of hours because I could'nt talk. Used to love the P.R.

Bee stings are irritating. They sting and itch. I guess it's a rite of passage for any youngster. You really have'nt been around much if you have'nt been stung.

80 and sunny!!! What a day!! Maybe I'll go out and stick my head in my flowers. With the bees...I'm getting braver as I get older.

This big bee was at a large garden center. With so many choices...He was like a redneck at an Old Country Buffet. He did'nt know where to go next.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.