Mr. Blackbird

Another glorious morning. 70ish and partly sunny. I dropped my doctor off at my wife's nursing home, and drove downtown.

We're finally getting some dragonflies showing up. I can't believe how many birds and other animals depend on them for food. You got your shrimp dragonfly gumbo, dragonfly creole, dragonfly kabobs, etc...etc. Most of the ones I saw today were the real skinny ones. Hard to photograph. On my flickr page, I put on a sparrow hunting them, a blue heron looking for fish, and a family of geese stopping traffic.

I was going back to my van when I disturbed the red-winged blackbird. I think they are one of the most territorial birds around. They just do not like anything around their nesting area. When the geese or the ducks swim by on the river, the blackbird dive bombs them.

I tried to get him to dive bomb me, but he was content to lord over me on the branch, and scold me for being too close.

Went out to dinner with Naturelover and 2 of our volleyball friends. Her husband had to be in western Michigan, so I filled in for him. She bought. Something called the Knife and Fork Club. Interesting. "Entertainment" for the night was a game of Bingo. Shelley won a 5 dollar coupon when the caller called B-2. I needed B-4. It was kind of fun being the youngest people in the reception hall.

I like the stare down from the blackbird.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.