michigan man

By outdoorguy

The Eyes of Innocence

A late night blip after a long day. It started on Saturday night when we had a sleep-over with the Merrick-Man, our 7 month old grandson. He decided to get up at 2:30 a.m., and took awhile to get back to sleep. Then he woke up again at 6:30 a.m. This time he did'nt return to Slumber-land.

My wife brought him into our bed, and laid him down face-up. Still fighting to stay awake, I drifted in and out, until he kicked me in the ribs. Now, he was wide awake, and so was I. My poor wife...I know she was exhausted, too.

Merrick moved today. Or, at least his parents moved. That's why he stayed with us. After church, we took over Sloppy Joes, chips and dip,and a peanut-butter cake to feed the friends and family who helped them move.

While my daughter and her husband returned the moving van, we brought Junior back to our house. After a dinner of Beech-nut Sweet Potatoes and Chicken followed by applesauce, we loaded up the stroller and took a short walk.

He lasted about 10 houses. I think the lack of sleep and the big move tired him out, too. While he was sleeping in the stroller, I probably took 125 pictures of the sleeping baby, and some were just precious. Others showed the orange left over from the sweet potatoes that Grandpa did'nt wipe off.

Then he woke up and started flashing those baby blues. Such expressive eyes. It will be months and months before he can share what he is thinking. But, for now, when he shows you those eyes, and he gives you a big smile or a chuckle...he can kick me in the ribs anytime he wants.

Hope the new house will soon become a home. A home filled with love, new baby words, new baby steps, and new adventures. CARRY ON...YOU THREE!!! LOVE YOU ALL!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.