michigan man

By outdoorguy

The Rescue

I said I would'nt do it. I SAID I WOULD"NT DO IT!! I said I would'nt interfere with Nature. But....it was just a baby.

I saw this little gosling way down on the other end of the pond. She was isolated 10-12 feet away from her family. They headed for the river, and this gosling was limping terribly. I was thinking broken leg...until I saw the fishing line, and the fact that her leg was horribly bloated and swollen. I tried telepathic thoughts with the parents that I could try to help, but they were'nt listening. She made it to the river, and the whole family moved to the other end of the pond.

At the other end, Mom and Dad picked out a high bank that you can see in the background of the picture. 5 babies climbed out with them, but this little one with the leg just could'nt get out. Still in the water, she ventured 10,20,30,40 feet away. A mother of another group of geese left the bank, and flew out to this baby. I said to the guy next to me, "Watch this...she'll try to drown it." She reached the little one, and held the baby underwater. After a few seconds...the baby popped up. Another try to hold it under. Baby popped up again. Even standing all the way across the pond...you could see the fear on its liitle face.

I tried...BUT, I COULD"NT STAND IT ANY LONGER!!! While it was still away from its parents, I hurried over to the other side...stripped off my shoes and socks, and went into the water after her. She squawked and squealled...her family hit the water...and they all swam off. I put on my shoes, and thought about heading for home.

The whole family then came to the flat end of the pond. The baby struggled out, plopped down, and ate some grass. The man I was talking to earlier came over, and we assessed the problem. I joked, "I'll turn my camera on. You rush in and get the gosling...and I'll film you being attacked."

I went around a small fence. I calmly talked to the parents as I approached the gosling. 10 feet away...8, 6, 4, 2. I reached down and grabbed the fishing line. It snapped. I grabbed again...it held...and I reeled the little sucker in. The parents hissed and moved towards me, but I went back behind the fence.

The line was so tight on her little leg that I was immediately discouraged. We first tried to unravel the line. No go. He ran into the city offices, and grabbed some scissors. Still we could'nt cut the line. Way too tight. Another stranger came by. We asked him if he had a pocketknife. HE DID!!!. My hero got the knife under the line and gingerly sliced away the line. After 3 or 4 cuts, we were free of the line.

The knife guy took our picture. I'm in the red shirt, and the surgeon is the other guy. Daddy Goose was impatiently waiting, so I put the baby down. She did'nt sprint off, but she ran off pretty well. I'm hoping that with renewed blood flow, and the nice cold water...that she'll be ok. Sometimes all we have is hope. I know I interfered but it felt goooooood!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.