Framing the Fort

By TheHairyCoo

Rainbow Tragic

That's my girl!

I pulled back my daughter's duvet to find this today. Not content with Rainbow Magic bedcovers, she had pulled a substantial portion of her 80-odd book collection into bed with her.

I remember my love affair with stories - not the books as such, they were just the repositories for the words. The stories were what captivated me, transporting me to other worlds. The very best of them had me eagerly devouring pages, desperate to discover what happened...and that odd, bereft feeling when you got there & realised you would journey no further with these characters.

Rainbow Magic stories drive me daft- they're formulaic in the extreme, they have numerous continuity errors, and the physics of their world alters every time one of the 4 writers who call themselves Daisy Meadows needs a plot device.

And yet Miss Geek loves them; she's desperate to learn to read so she can enjoy them on her own. Until then, putting up with their egregious sentence structure is a small price to pay to see her face light up as she battles Jack Frost's naughty goblins along with her fairy friends.

Hope you're enjoying your weekend as much as I'm enjoying mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.