Furnace Lass

By furnacelass

Midgie Magnet

Midge Magnet aka Himalayan Poppy

After a great day with a swim at the Mid Argyll pool followed by our usual Sunday afternoon trip down to our friends in Tarbert with some glorious sunshine ( windy and cold) , then afternoon tea at Kilmartin we headed back home to Furnace.

We stopped at Crarae as I was keen to see how the Himalayan poppies were surviving the heavy rains of this week. That's when everything took a definite downturn. yes the poppies were surviving although already past their best. However it was a case of midgie invasion. never have I been attacked by such ferocious midges before, worse even than the notorious Barra midgie. I can feel them as I type this just now.Stayed around for a couple of shots but fled back to the car covered in the little blighters! My head was burning with the bites inflicted by these monsters. The longest three minute journey ever, then straight into the shower to get rid of them. My right eye , ears and lips look as if I have been through ten rounds with Mike Tyson.

The strangest thing was that we didn't encounter any midgies until we reached the poppy garden.

Suffering for the sake of our art!!! Think I will emigrate to the Est coast for the summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.