TrishaR

By TrishaR

The Battered Peonies

A week or so ago I took a picture of a peony rose, who had just started blooming. I said that whenever they bloom, you can be sure that they will soon get a battering. Well, yesterday it happened. So I rescued 5 blooms from the gales yesterday and here they are, in a vase that I "borrowed" from my mum many, many years ago. I remember sneaking it out of her house (well it was stuck out of sight in a cupboard) and taking it to my home where it was proudly displayed with various different flowers in it, and has done since then!!

The winds were slightly less strong today, but I have noticed a slight covering of ash on the car (from the unpronouncable Icelandic volcano that has also caused travel chaos at the airports).

Enjoyed a nice trip to Falkland this afternoon. Walk through the Estate with Breagha after coffee and brownie at The Pillars of Hercules. There is a fantastic craft shop there which is like a wee treasure trove.

Here are my peonies in my favourite Spode Vase.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.