The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Flowers In The Rain

Now as any good trivia buff knows, The Move's - Flowers In The Rain was the first song to officially be played on Radio One in the UK. What you probably don't know was that it wasn't! Tony Blackburn actually played Johnny Dankworths - The Beefeaters as his signature tune for the first show, Daily Disc Delivery, so technically that was the first song to air in the UK from Radio One.

Also, do you know how much money The Move have made from their most famous song ... absolutely none! Their manager released a promotional postcard defaming Harold Wilson, Wilson sued and won, and all the royalties to this day are donated to Wilson's charity of choice!

So there you go pop pickers!

I managed to squeeze one last blip in before they come and take my computer away! I've been wanting to take a picture of these Irises by the front door for days.

I'm just sitting watching flowers in the rain
Feel the power of the rain making the garden grow
I'm just sitting watching flowers in the rain
Feel the power of the rain keeping me good
Flowers In The Rain - The Move (1967)


Part of the Musical May Photo Challenge that I and a number of fellow blippers undertook this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.