It Started Down Under

By dirk

Evacuation Drill

Today I went to university to see my coach who had returned from Sydney, Australia this weekend. We talked about my progress with project and modules and made some short term plans on how to approach the final few weeks of this semester.

When I was working effectively, all of a sudden the fire alarm went off. Everyone was urgently asked to leave the main building and gather in the auditorium and await further instructions...

So this is the entire main building of the TU/e (Eindhoven) emptying in a mass stampede to the auditorium through the walking bridge. We wrote our names on lists so they knew we were evacuated and then waited a bit in the sun before we were thanked and requested to go back inside.

A little while after this drill I went home together with my girlfriend (in the same train at least). Back home I got an immediate pain in my right upper arm and shoulder. It hurt very badly and I had much trouble doing any more studying on my laptop this evening, and also piano playing had become very painful.

Now my arm is resting a bit and I don't feel the pain now I'm blipping. But I guess I will need to rest it for a bit more tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.