My Angle

By myangle

St Patricks Day

Everyone seems to want to be Irish today although most places cashed in on the weekend with celebrations.

Jo and I have a legitimate claim to a celebration today. We met 17 years ago today in a Pub called The Southern Cross on Kings Road in London. It had undergone a refit last time we popped in a year and a half ago and had lost, for us anyway, some of its character. In those days on Wednesdays and Sundays the place was heaving with twenty somethings from all corners of the globe, all looking for, well you know... Nowdays they don't even sell tallies of Steinlager.

Anyway, that's where I found Jo. She was giving me the eye so I went over and said, "Hi, I'm Martin from Jo'burg". To which she replied," I'm Jo from Brisbane."

I decided I wanted to marry her then and there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.