Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Helper Windmill

Finally the sunset is late enough for me to get the girls to bed and then get out to capture the sunset. However, it looked like we were going to have rain so I was in doubt. Man, was I glad I went out. I got several good shots and was about ready to leave because the clouds started to look really threatening.

Then a young lady approached me and asked what I was doing. I thought it was rather self-explanatory; after all what does one do with a photo camera? But we started talking and I explained somewhat about longer shutter speeds and the effect it has on pictures. She asked some more questions and after about five minutes she wished me luck with my hobby and went back to the group she was with.

I started packing when the lights on the windmill were switched on. It still wasn't raining so I thought I'd give it a go. You're looking at the result... I walked to the group and thanked the friendly young lady because I would have been gone if it weren't for her. They thought this would be postcard material. What do you think? Go large for optimum viewing pleasure!

After packing my stuff I got in the car... and then it started raining. Perfect timing and a great end to a perfect photography night. Who cares the sunset itself was hidden behind the clouds when you can get photographs like this?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.