Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Wireless

A late and very technical blip today... A couple of weeks ago I bought a new router to replace the one you're seeing in this blip. I put the old circular infra-wifi filter in front of the lens and this is the result. As you can clearly see, there's something wrong with the wireless signal coming from the right antenna...

That's all nonsense, of course. Except for the fact that it is my old router here. Old, but there's nothing really wrong with it. Another fact: I did spend a rather large portion of today trying to get my new router to do exactly as I wish. I got the new router because it is faster, but also because it has a built-in file server. Just what I needed to store large amounts of RAW images that I have been collecting since I got my Canon EOS 500D. The problem with the new router was that it just kept dropping the wireless connection to all the clients* I have. Several hours and firmware upgrades into the process I can now say that it seems to be working like it should. No thanks to Linksys, the manufacturer of my new WRT160NL router. They know of this problem and have not been able to fix it. My problems were solved by installing a free substitute for the firmware called DD-WRT.

Now back to the one household IT project left: getting the printer server up and running again!

* I'm a total geek and have four devices that connect to the router wirelessly and another two that are wired.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.