BAD GIRL

I was idly wondering about possibly not using a mail application any more and sticking with the various web-based email readers, partly to reduce the risk of any identity-thieving if I do anythng stupid like mislay my computer or an external drive and partly to avoid the extremely tedious task of cleaning everything up before archiving the .pst and copying it over. However, an hitherto unknown issue with my ISP's webmail client has arisen which means that I'll probably have to go the tedious way; I emailed this month's entry for the work photo club competition directly to the work photo club mailbox using the ISP webmail client and copied in my work address just in case. One of the committee just called saying that they couldn't use the entry as the picture was inextricably embedded in the email from which our shitebag work email lacks the tools to extract it. I can't access the webmail from work but managed to extract the picture by forwarding it to myself from the ISP webmail via my phone then reading it with the phone's inbuilt email client to check that the attachment had been split off before forwarding it back to work email (I don't have a card reader with me to load it straight up from the phone) and thence back to the committee member. An unnecessarily complex process which has eaten into my going-outside-for-a-walk time and means I won't be able to get home to check to see if the post office have lied about attempting to deliver my new bag.

I don't know if the embedding issue is the fault of the webmail client or the shitey work email system. On the one hand being able to retrieve the mail from the sent folder of the webmail client was handy but probably handier will be the continued ability to read stuff whilst offline and without the limitations imposed by working through a web browser even if sent mails are only stored on the machine itself rather than via a universally-(except-for-at-work)-accessible internet-based facility. I expect there is something I would be able to do had I the time or the inclination but I have neither the time nor the inclination. I briefly considered switching entirely over to gmail but the lack of ability of the phone client to deal with attachments dissuaded me despite the ease of storage.

Anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.