Feed The World

I felt a little nervous as I set of, camera bag on shoulder, to join in a global picnic.

Can I just say, I have never eaten my lunch in the centre of Penrith, nor talked to complete strangers about why I am about to take a photo of my lunch! (I had to, the children were pointing at me). I don't think I ever have taken a photo of my lunch before today!

So, here I am, sat on a bench opposite Oxfam with a couple and their two toddlers who are having a holiday here. It will give them something to talk about when they get home! Crazy woman taking photos at arms length of a pork pie!

Thinking about food production and energy conservation in its distribution, I called in on an independant butcher just up the street. His pork is locally reared and the pie was made in the back of the shop, still warm as I bought it. So no energy wasted on reheating a lunchtime meal. It was sold to me in a modest, recycleable paper bag.

I called into Oxfam and spotted some sherry glasses to replace my broken set. Then I saw a lovely pressed glass marmalade jar. (The Mother eats marmalade every day and loved the jar so much she now has custody of it!) I told the ladies in the shop about my challenge for blip and they wished me luck!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.