Lali's World

By Lali

Details 5 - On Duke of Buccleuch Statue

The intricate design around the base of Duke of Buccleuch statue just outside St Giles Cathedral has always amazed me! This is just one side. The other side looks different. Each square portraits a different scene!

Today it was unusually hot in Edinburgh, considering the cold weather we've had in May. As the weather was so good, this morning I decided to go to work on my bike! Yes, today it was my commuting debut! I rode the bike all the way from the bottom of Leith Walk to the top of the Royal Mile! All uphill! Took me about 30 minutes. I was utterly exhausted at the end of it, but I did it! My worst fear was the traffic, but I managed to get through it ok. I think it will take me a little time to get used to it.

As it was the first time I was doing this, of course it took me a few hours to recover! It was harder work than I thought. I was glad that on my way back home it was all downhill!!!!! :)

Work was really busy. Today I had an interesting guy in one of my tours. He was wearing a strange old fashioned outfit, a black tall hat, some funny looking bundles and a weird looking twisted stick. He looked as if he'd just jumped out of a fairy tale! I wish I'd had my camera there to take a picture or him. But of course, I don't carry my camera around while on tour. He told me he was doing something which was a German tradition. I didn't quite understand it, but I think he was travelling all over the world just collecting experiences and learning new things. A Canadian couple in my tour actually thought that he was an actor performing as part of the whisky tour experience!

The rest of the day was just warm and tiring. Early night tonight since I'm starting at 8.30 tomorrow morning. Not sure if I'll take the bike...

Thanks very much for all your comments! I hope you all have a great weekend! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.