Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Not a cup cake!

I am continually amazed by the things I have never noticed before. Here is an example. While I was following yet more pollinators in the garden this morning, I took this image of the inside of a poppy. Once on the screen I could see the almost furry or icing-like spokes that radiate from the centre. The yellow dots were a surprise too. Soon the petals and stamens will have gone and characteristic seed head will remain.

This afternoon I went on a wild flower walk in the Langholm walking festival. So hot! We were glad of the woodland sections. Good revision for people like me who need to re-learn our wild flowers every year. I didn't know that wood avens and water avens hybrise, but saw the outcome. Great stuff!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.