Gibraltar

This morning we had the 6th largest aftershock, a 5.5 magnitude quake.

I happened to be in the mist on the southern end of the Port Hills in the valley below Gibraltar Rock when it hit.

The 3 hunters felt and heard it too but the dogs were unfazed. It was amazing to hear the rock above and beneath us rumble, and feel it shake and rock beneath out boots. Once I knew no rocks or boulders were spilling it was less scary than in a building (other than Gibraltar there were several other rocky out crops above us). I was in awe and knew it was big to have heard and felt it as we did.

Plenty of sign of pigs but once again the pigs won. Pigs 2, hunters 0 ;-) For these hunters a pig is a bonus. They have a genuine love and respect for the land and being out there is their first love.

Dangerous I hear you say? Ironincally the epicentre was close to The Hunters. On our return we picked up the few things that fell over in our absence. I'm glad we were in the hills. It wouldn't have been fun at home either.

Best viewed large

Thanks to the Queen for having a birthday as it gives us a long weekend at the start of June. I'm a bit tired at the end of it. I'll catch up journals and commenting tomorrow.

Friday back blip - Horse float textures

Saturday back blip - What's going on

Sunday back blip - Take a deep breath

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.