Capital adventures

By marchmont

The eye of the 'butter'fly

Up early and off to the Museum of Islamic Arts - very interesting and in a beautiful building. Then I walked to the Kl World of Birds but decided not to go in - the trouble with a world traveller, which is after all what I am, is that you keep seeing the same things. I saw a similar aviary on the garden Route in SA last year and once you've seen one flamingo .... I did go to the (free) orchid garden, but it's not a patch on the one in Singapore.

After Butterfly World it was a hot walk via the old Moghul style railway terminus to the old Central Market - and a beer!

Then a taxi home - I think I've cracked this taxi lark. Today it cost me more or less the same to come back a it cost to go and much less than yesterday. It's still cheap - 12RM today - that's about £2.50 for a 30/40minute journey.

A huge tropical storm with thunder and lightning has been going on since I got back. the first since I've been here. I did go for a swim in the rain but then it got windy.

Now waiting the arrival of G's dad who'll be staying here for the next 4 nights. Interesting times but should be ok - will have to be ok, it's G and W H's party,not ours. First time that we've stayed together as a family like this for over 2 years.

Live in the present, let go of the past and wait for the future to greet you. Today's mantra. Enjoy the rest of it.

More photos here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.