Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Home Sweet Home

Yes, I know, another rat-related blip! I think there may be quite a few of those in the next few weeks or so!

I was delighted to see they were still here this morning and it hadn't all been some sort of wonderful dream. There had definitely been activity in the night - rootling around in the bedding, nibbling of the "fruity treat" stick, and a few extremely small wees - so different from the cat puddles we're used to!

So, like a good rat carer, I cleaned up a bit and provided fresh water and nuggets for Charlie & Moses, who both took nuggets up to the highest perch and sat together, nibbling and crunching - absolutely adorable!

This morning I went into town - collecting my prescriptions, calling in at WHSmith, collecting a few more rat bits and pieces from the local pet things supplier, and popping into the vet to register the boys in case they get ill - unlike the cats, they don't need annual injections, and would be unlikely to undergo major surgery since they're so small, but if they get a bit under the weather and I have to take them in then it's a good idea to have them registered.

Once home, the boys had a treat each - both came and took them out of my hands! They also both came for a cuddle. Awwww!

So, here is their cage - complete with all sorts of bits and pieces. The orange curvy tunnel, which I bought this morning, is very popular - Moses likes to take bits of food in there and spent much of the afternoon doing excavations in the bottom of the cage. Charlie seems to have comandeered the yellow hanging dome thing - he either curls up in it, or sticks his nose over the edge so he can see what's going on! While he sleeps in the yellow dome, Moses likes to curl up in the corner of the top shelf!

In other news - I've been continuing my quest to get the house sorted and have cleared my desk so I can use it for work again. I also played the viola to the boys - they both came over to see what was going on - made me quite nervous practising with an audience! ;-)

I'm SO pleased to have these little chaps - I've loved rats for about 15 years now (ever since training them to press levers for food on an Open University summer school), and have been saying for years that I'd get some "one day". Well, "one day" is here, and they're giving me such pleasure already!

:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.