Broken Glass!

Thank you Blipfoto! If it hadn't been for me needing to get my blip in last night without back blipping, my Nikon D3 would have been stolen along with my Lumix GH-2, 2 bags of fairly expensive lenses and all tolled about $18k worth of equipment.

Yes, someone broke into my truck last night right in front of my house. The place Julie and I have owned and lived for over 27 years. The quiet, everyone looks out for each other neighborhood we've known is now a statistic like the rest - thieves have joined our midst.

After a long day working with Pie Ranch and driving long distances, I got home, grabbed my D3 out of the truck (with all the photos I'd taken that day), and left everything else to be retrieved in the morning. It's almost like someone knew... Hmmmm. Anyway, I have lost a lot of really valuable equipment. My entire Lumix GH2 camera outfit that included 6 lenses and a camera neatly tucked into a single bag. Two additional bags, one holding my DX style lenses and the other with my FX lenses, (way expensive stuff). Fortunately, I have a really loud car alarm and once they tried three windows finally breaking one, the alarm went off at 4am. I guess they grabbed what was in reach and took off. By the time I got to the front room to look out and see why my alarm was going off, they were gone.

A day of police reports and insurance claims, and the replacement of 3 windows in my truck, I decided to journal this event on blip and thank blip for saving my D3 (they missed my D300 in a bag in the back). So, I have my two main working cameras, but I've lost a lot of specialized gear which was collected over time. Custom filters, adapters, tele-converters, and a total of 16 lenses.

Yes, I have insurance, but not without a deductible and getting your stuff ripped off in front of your house leaves you a bit unsettled. I guess I'll get over it and most of my gear will eventually be replaced. The worst part is the thieves got stuff they have no idea how to use or sell. It's sad really.

Be this a lesson to fellow blippers - take special care of your stuff. I got sloppy because I was tired. These electronic marvels we carry around represent money to those who don't have. Be careful.

Have a great weekend everyone!

Love to all.

PS - they didn't get my trusty Leica VLUX point and shoot - check out the exif data...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.