Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Threatening

A busy, packed day. The client's reaction was excellent to yesterday's work on the annual report, and even more enthusiastic when he saw the cover which kept me occupied this morning.

Having abandoned work on this issue of the quarterly magazine, I had to meet my print contact and hand over templates and examples of previous page layouts so he could take over. It took a while for him to make his way in to meet me (problems with his Blackberry left us out of sync), so I had time to wander around Mount Street and the nearby canal. The weather's been weird recently, and it was no surprise to learn from the Met office that May had been the wettest and windiest for a long time. Today was weird again, switching all the time between sunshine and threatening cloud. This street lamp in Mount Street looked especially good against the dark clouds, so there wasn't much of a contest when it came to deciding on today's blip.

When I got back towards home I decided to do some window shopping for an iPhone, since my current (very old and positively retro) phone has been acting up, having charging problems and being generally unreliable. Having chatted with providers in town I moved on to chat some more with a few outlets closer to home. It was in Carphone Warehouse that I got the suggestion to get a cheap, throwaway phone my SIM card can be switched to in case it develops serious problems while we're away. It seemed like a clever notion, and I managed to get a cheap and cheerful, really basic, branded phone for a mere 20 euro.

After that it was a bit of a rush to grab a quick nap and then head back in to town for one of our Chew & Chat nights. Unfortunately, Bedlam was a disappointment. The staff were very friendly, but service turned out to be desperately slow between first and second courses. To add insult to injury, we were amazed to see that Tom had been charged for the slice of bread he'd asked to have to mop up the juices his sautéd prawns! We moved on afterwards to a little wine bar in South William Street, and I got the Nitelink home at 1.30 am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.